The UEFA Champions League is an annual international inter-club football competition between Europe's most successful clubs, regarded as the most prestigious club trophy in the sport.

Originally known as the European Champion Clubs' Cup, the competition began in 1955/56 using a two-leg knockout format where the teams would play two matches, one at home and and one away, and the team with the highest overall score qualifying for the next round of the competition. Entry was restricted to the teams that won their national league championships.

The format and name were changed in 1992/93, and now the competition consists of qualifying rounds for some teams, two stages of group competition (where teams play each other in the style of "home-and-away" or "regular season competition), and then three rounds of knock-out finals. Qualification for the competition is decided by teams placing in their domestic league championships on a quota system, with countries with stronger domestic leagues allocated more teams.

Real Madrid CF has won this competition nine times. The next most successful teams are A.C. Milan (6 titles), Bayern Munich, Ajax and Liverpool (4 titles).

Formerly, the Cup Winners' Cup (between winners of the national cup competitions) was played, but national cup winners now play in the UEFA Cup (since 1999).
Source: Champions League defintion

March's Champions League Results:

March 4, 2008
AC Milan 0 - 2 Arsenal
Barcelona 1 - 0 Celtic
Sevilla FC 3 - 2 Fenerbahce
Man Utd 1 - 0 Lyon
March 5, 2008
FC Porto 1 - 0 Schalke 04
Real Madrid 1 - 2 Roma
Chelsea 3 - 0 Olympiacos

No comments:

Champions League Matches

Recent Posts

Popular Posts